In shambles. Final grades received, terrible situation.

Discussion in 'The Rant Section' started by person, Apr 25, 2013.

1. person

person Well-Known Member

So, my situation isn't as bad as I made it out to be on the topic header. But it feels incredibly terrible for me.

I haven't failed a course in years. This is the first time in a very longtime. And not so surprisingly, I failed Intro to Foods, which is very science based. For example: In order for gases to expand in muffins when baking, you need to mix baking soda and or powder with other ingredients. Baking powder + monocalcium phosphate monohydrate while dry mixed create carbone dioxide during baking, which created air pockets in the muffins... blah blah blah.
    For myself, I find it very difficult to understand and or study. I studied for the first final for days and I still only managed a low 50%. (in Canada, 50 is considered a D/pass) So I know science based courses are not a strength of mine. Granted, I didn't do badly in any other course and I'm not being required to withdrawal or anything, but this course sets me back.
    It's a prereq for majority of the courses I'm taking in the fall, and I'm already behind. I should have already graduated, but instead I'll be graduating in a few years, because I decided to change my major. Which is incredibly sad as is.

So I ended up failing this course. I did very badly in the 2nd midterm but I kept up with the course work, getting high 70-80s in my quizzes and labs. Yet here is the policy for the course (that I did not know or understand till now) I needed a cumulative pass in midterm #1, #2 and my final. If I do not obtain a cumulative pass, they'll take the grades from only my midterms and finals and calculate the average as my final mark. Which means, that all the work that I did for my quizzes and labs are not applied.